"Off With Their Hearts"


It’s a true first and a true last.

The Shebrews’ Off With Their Hearts is the last set of love songs you’ll ever need tastefully arrayed on one extended-play c.d., the group’s first.

The Shebrews are John Crozier (Hang Ups, Ninian Hawick, Seacreature, Ninotchka, &tc) and Stephanie Winter (Les Arbres, Zipperpuss, Legendary Jim Ruiz Group, &tc) along with surprise guests. Working separately and apart for many years in cult-favorites of the internationally renowned Minneapolis avant-pop scene, The Shebrews represent a seldom seen opportunity: seasoned songwriters and musicians tactfully allowing a project to culminate as nature would have it.

And here you have it: the underground smash "Leave All Your Old Loves" (as seen a couple of years back on 7" vinyl), the European compilation-hopper "Paris c’est toi", the ornate house backbeaten "Turning Red", Le Grand Magistry’s mod forfiture "Motorbike Girl", and all the rest. For about 30 minutes, these "underground" sensations will pollute the mainstream waters with freshness and vitality, every time you press play.

If this isn’t the first time you’re hearing of or from The Shebrews, it’s not surprising. Crozier’s pop-collective Ninian Hawick saw their biggest hit, "Scottish Rite Temple Stomp", backed with "Leave All Your Old Loves", thus far The Shebrews’ best-loved recording, on a Grimsey Records single which has long since sold out. At one time or another, The Shebrews have appeared with artists on Grimsey releases such as Bomb Pops’ famed singles compilation and the Hang Ups’ sold out "Top of Morning" single.

In the midst of it all, Grimsey has long held out for a concise statement that would be The Shebrews’ own. That statement came in a flurry of long nights in the studio, transforming intricate stories of woe and desire into deceptively simple and patently brilliant pop gems. So long brewing, The Shebrews’ first collection of songs has a depth you can immediately hear despite the muddy waters of time. Harrowing, haunting, and several years in the making, Off With Their Hearts is a thing worth cherishing. listen here.

1. Turning Red
2. The Trouble with Harry
3. Paris c'est toi
4. Leave all your Old Loves
5. I Wish I Were Her
6. Motorbike Girl
7. Strange Effect
8. Turning Blue


"Leave all your old Loves" Grimsey 003
split single w/ Ninian Hawick - also appeared on Elefant records "Montecarlo" compilation

"Paris c'est toi" Paris Vu Par compilation, Riviera disques

Buy it here: Add to Cart - GR020 $10 - more info @ catalog page.

Rockbites recently reviewed it and said this:
" Minneapolis retro-twee duo The Shebrews quietly released their stunning debut mini-album titled Off With Their Hearts in August on Stillwater, Minnesota’s Grimsey Records. If you have any interest in retro ’60s to ’80s pop (American or British) or in perfectly crafted art pop, I can’t say it more plainly: this disc is a must-have treasure.

    The Shebrews are an on-and-off collaboration between multi-instrumentalist John Crozier (Ninotchka, The Legendary Jim Ruiz Group, Seacreature, Ninian Harwick, Hang Ups) and British-born vocalist Stephanie Winter (Les Arbres, The Legendary Jim Ruiz Group, Zipperpuss). Previous releases include a variety of split singles and the occasional compilation appearance. For the songs of OWTH, they enlisted help from drummers Bryan Hanna and Chad Nelson, bassists Matt Gerzema and Jim Ruiz, and keyboards player Peter Sands.

    Despite its billing as a CD-EP, think of this as a mini album. Its eight songs and 21 minutes can take you farther away from the troubles of the world than a hundred lesser full length LPs. Each track is individually breathtaking and could be a single in its own right. In sequence the songs are crushingly heart rending and beautiful.

    Five tracks on the disc are written or co-written by Crozier and Winter, and reveal the pair to be a formidable songwriting team. The three covers blend in seamlessly and to excellent effect: Leave All Your Old Loves by Pamla Birch of ’60s Liverpool act The Liverbirds, Motorbike Girl by Jessica Griffin of ’80s band The Would-Be-Goods (aka Griffin backed by The Monochrome Set), and This Strange Effect, a major hit for ’60s British pop balladeer Dave Berry written by The Kinks’ Ray Davies.

    Music from the magical partnership known as The Shebrews is precious. Get all you can.